Day 50 with Linux at MPOW: Now using Linux full time


Linux_Mint_LogoI am now a full time Linux user at work. Its been over a month since I first started my experiment, but I never thought I would be comfortable enough to use Linux full time. I have a lot to learn about Linux, but my every day work flow is not comfortably running on a Linux OS. I actually like the feeling of getting away from Outlook and other programs that I have grown comfortable with on the Windows platform. I was also surprised that Wine and Wine Doors can let me use a lot of Windows software if I need it. For example, I installed Internet Explorer 6 so I could use NYLA’s CMS system (the CMS is IE only) to update information on our section home page. I also switched to more cloud based services like using Gmail for my work e-mail, using Google docs to get my documents started, and later using Open Office if I need more advanced word processing features. I use an online tool called DropBox to keep most of my documents in sync between work and my home Mac.  All in all, I am happy with my Linux experience at Day 50, and will continue to use Linux at work. I am currently working on setting up Linux on some older loaner laptops that will go into circulation later this year.

One response to “Day 50 with Linux at MPOW: Now using Linux full time

  1. Pingback: Day 50 with Linux at MPOW: Now using Linux full time | Linux Articles

Leave a Reply

