I saw this coming…did you?


SirsiDynix announces new technology platform. Forget Unicorn, forget Horizon, they’re merging to create “Rome.” Given what happened to that empire, I might have chosen a different name. And given my experience with Horizon, I can’t say I’m thinking this is a good thing. I don’t want to know what our patrons will do when they find out we’re migrating again, because either way, we will be. What do you think?

3 responses to “I saw this coming…did you?

  1. Yes, because everything we know about private equity groups suggests they need to make a lot of money quickly on their acquisitions and the only way ILS vendors can generate extra money is through the upgrade cycle.

    We can only hope that more libraries will give open source a hard look before signing on for another ride!

  2. Yes, Open Source is starting to seem more and more appealing. Unfortunately, not every system employs the programmers necessary to make this a viable option, which is too bad since the system developed by Georgia seems like it’s really something.

  3. Ken Fujiuchi

    I do like some of the open source solutions out there, but I know my library has no way of supporting it without some new staff. I am looking forward to next gen library systems being more open to APIs and other methods that will let us grab data from the system more freely. I would be really happy if OPACs would give us the ability to create RSS feeds out of some of the searches we have.

Leave a Reply

