Introductions


After seeing Jamie’s introduction, I just realized that I never introduced myself. So here it goes…

I am the Emerging Technology Librarian at the E. H. Butler Library at Buffalo State College. This basically means I am the in house library tech geek, and I have slowly introduced new technologies to the library, and participate in many technology initiatives on campus. I have been working as a librarian for about a year and a half now, though I previously had a position at the School of Informatics at the University at Buffalo. I have taught courses on Information Storage and Retrieval for the Department of Library and Information Studies at the University at Buffalo as well.

My main interests are in the Web 2.0 and Library 2.0 philosophies, the technologies that are developing around these topics, information literacy, and the ever changing world of searching. I’ve presented at conferences and run workshops on blogs, wikis, social networks, and other Web 2.0/Library 2.0 initiatives. I also teach workshops and course at Buffalo State College about library research, and participate in information literacy initiatives on campus.

Like Jamie, I too read a lot of blogs and follow RSS feeds everyday in order to stay current with emerging technologies and the evolving library profession. One of the reasons I started this blog was to introduce a SMART presence in the Web 2.0 world. Its been great to see the traffic to this blog increase steadily since it started, and I am open to suggestions and comments on how we can make this a better resource for SMART.

Leave a Reply

